RickyAdventures@Yahoo!

As a blogger, I need to have an email address and I couldn’t have picked a better one. Thanks T! Adventures plus yahoo perfectly suits my zest for life!

My greatest adventure before coming to live with T and N was getting out in the play yard at the shelter with my kennel-mate Howie. It was fun, but a pretty small space when compared to my new yard. And lately, because I’ve convinced T I can be trusted off-leash, my playground has expanded to all twenty acres of the farm. Yahoo!

Fetch on the farm.

Another recent adventure, although it might not sound like much to you, was having a house guest, one who stayed overnight. I’d never met this person and there she was, sleeping right in our house. T said she was my auntie, but still, could I trust her in the same house with my people? All week I swung between being wildly excited to see her and barking whenever she entered a room where T and N were hanging out. It was exhausting. In the end, I was pretty smitten with her, so I think I was a better host when she returned for another few days’ stay. I hope she forgives me for my overly vigilant behaviour.

Me and my human auntie Sus.

When Sus came back for the second visit, the four of us went on an adventure together. It was a return trip to the Badlands, somewhere we visited in February, but it all seemed different now. Partly because it’s spring instead of winter, but also because I feel so much better riding in a vehicle and can enjoy the journey a lot more than three months ago.

We hiked at Horseshoe Canyon, visited the giant dinosaur, had lunch at our favourite burger place (Bernie and the Boys, if you haven’t been, yum), and took a second, longer walk at Midlands Provincial Park. What a day! I was completely flaked out in my travel crate for the trip home.

In my last post, I told you about my obsession with balls. Well, I have to confess, it’s not just balls, fetching anything—a ball, a stick, a toy—is pretty much my favourite thing in the whole world. Even better than treats or cuddles, which are right near the top of my things-I-love list. Even better than the other dogs at the dog park. Give me a ball and I am gone.

Well, out in the Badlands, near the Tyrell Museum, there’s a nice fresh water pond. We’d walked about three kilometres on a warm day, so I wandered in to have a drink and cool my feet.

Aaahhh…refreshing.

T asked N if he thought I’d fetch from water. Now, they don’t normally throw sticks for me because, well, I’ll just say it, they need to give me toys they can put away, so I can focus on other things, like going to the bathroom. And sticks are pretty much everywhere, which can be an issue. But, at the Tyrell pond, a stick was all they had.

This was the answer to T’s query about me fetching from water…

I thought fetching on dry ground was fun, but in the water, I never overheat! I could have gone all day! And as an added bonus, I was damp and cool for the return trip to the truck. What a world.

Today we’re headed off on another new adventure for me … something they call camping. I don’t know what that is, but if it’s even half as good as pond fetch, I’ll be one happy doggo. Yahoo.

5 thoughts on “RickyAdventures@Yahoo!

  1. Where is the love button?
    Aw Ricky, you are so forgiven. I had a great time while you learned how to have house guests. It didn’t phase me one bit but I know it was a little rough on T and N. But alas, it is an issue of the past and you were only doing your job after all. No wonder you were confused.
    I enjoyed our adventure too. Picked a bad time to head off to the bathroom, but something tells me I’ll have plenty of opportunities to watch your water fetch extravaganzas 😆. And way to go on the leaps and bounds in the truck travel department. Huge congrats on earning the off-leash on the farm trust. There’s just no stopping you.
    Happy to be referred to as your human auntie Sus. Beam beam 😁
    I’m excited about your first camping trip too. I told T you’re gonna flip 🙃
    Definitely an excellent name for your blog. YAHOO little man! ❤️🐾❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Whew…that’s a relief. I thought you might never come back and it would be all my fault. :o( I’m pretty sure I can keep my growls and barks in check next time you’re here. Just don’t surprise me in the dark!
      You were right. I did flip … but you know about that. T told me not to say too much though, because it will spoil the next blog post for everyone else. Shhh… I’ll just say, so happy you came to join us for another badlands adventure!
      💗 Ricky 🐾

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment