Making Hay

I’ve been here on the farm for thirteen summers. And almost all of those thirteen summers, Teresa & Nollind have been making hay. It started with a couple of acres and some old equipment, and has expanded into over half of our land, two other properties, and newer, flashier equipment.

What hasn’t changed is my supervision of the process. As a fellow four-legged, albeit a carnivore, the horses rely on me to oversee the production of their winter food. I let the humans do the heavy lifting, literally, but I am the brains behind the operation.

07-Logan-haymaking-stacking-1

Supervising the first load. They were a good crew so I didn’t have to watch them all evening, but I did wander over to check their work while they were having post-stacking drinks.

 

Teresa has her microwave testing process set up in the garage and she checks the moisture levels before they bale. They could just ask me. I’d give them a moisture reading with one sniff. But I hear it’s good to make your people feel empowered.

 

07-Logan-haymaking-test-1

Checking hay moisture. I’d say … 16%.

 

This week the sun is shining and a breeze is blowing across the prairie which makes for perfect hay drying conditions. There’s also an excessive heat warning for our area, which makes for not-so-perfect hay stacking conditions. Luckily, I have paws rather than hands, so am not well designed for picking up or stacking fifty-pound bales.

I was out checking the moisture on the second field this morning. Now that Teresa has confirmed the results of my nose test, Nollind is over there raking and they’ll be baling this afternoon.

07-Logan-haymaking-inspecting-1

Canine approved – ready to rake and bale.

 

Me? I’ll wait here in the cool until my services are required again.

07-Logan-haymaking-rest-1

My favourite place when it’s 30+ degrees outside.

 

9 thoughts on “Making Hay

  1. I admire your attitude of compassionate condescension toward your humans. I know it’s hard to be humble, but, just between us, you’re doing fine. Carry on!

    Like

  2. Very cute Logan. Am glad to see that you are having a good rest after that hard work! Thanks for sharing. I have a poetry blog here on WordPress and today’s poem is about making hay while the sun shines in case you have time to look? Golden greetings, Sam 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

