Horses, Humans, and Hounds

It’s not even July and already we’ve been on a Double H and a Triple H camping trip. In case you’re not familiar with the terminology, the Double H is a humans/hounds camping trip and the Triple H is a horses/humans/hounds camping trip. You may have noticed the species order, with horses at number one, humans two, and hounds three. Well, that’s about the way of things when we spend time with the horses. Their needs always come first. I’m not complaining. It’s just a fact. And it means a different kind of camping trip than when the horses aren’t along.

06-Chico-Horsetrip-thehorses-1

The horses (looking oh so innocent) – Rosa and Storm

 

One of the main differences in Triple H camping is that T and Nollind hit the trails on horseback instead of hiking with us. Of course, if you’ve read our blogs from a few years back, you’ll know that it’s our own fault, mine in particular, that we don’t get to go along on horseback rides anymore. There were just too many squirrels and other woodland creatures and I couldn’t seem to stick to the trail. My last trail ride was down at Etherington Creek in south Kananaskis when I ran off after a deer and Logan followed. We were gone quite a while so I think that was the infamous straw that broke the dog’s fun. I’m not sure if Logan’s ever quite forgiven me, although he wouldn’t be able to keep up with the horses anymore anyway.

But the horse trip last weekend was different … in a very good way. It was the addition of more humans, humans without horses, that made the difference. Our friends G and S were part of this excursion which meant that we had humans to walk with. It also meant being on a leash and not chasing after woodland creatures but, hey, that was absolutely okey dokey with me. I got to go walking instead of waiting in the trailer.

06-Chico-HorsetripGandS-1

Big Elbow Trail – Day 1

 

The eight of us would start off down the trail together, and then T and Nollind would carry on with the horses when it was time for us to turn back. We were mostly turning back because Logan gets sore if we walk too far, so I pleaded with them to let me follow the horses. (I look kind of pathetic in the photos, pulling on my leash toward the horses and wagging my tail like it’s on fire, so I’ll not include one here.) I think I was pretty close to convincing T to let me go with them but Nollind was the annoying voice of reason. I would have been good … well … maybe. I would have tried.

06-Chico-Horsetrip-walking-1

Heading for Ford Knoll Trail – Day 2

 

We camped at an old favourite, Little Elbow Equestrian. Three days and two nights. All three days included an hour or so of walking and at least one swim, and both nights were filled with food, drinks, and camaraderie around the campfire. G and S are the best kind of people, dog people, so there were treats and attention galore! I know they’re missing their Dixie, so I do my best to fill a little bit of that big empty space she’s left behind.

06-Chico-Horsetrip-fireside-1

Morning coffee around the Little Red Campfire.

 

The living space in the horse trailer is a lot smaller than in Sid, and it doesn’t have heat, so accommodations were not quite as luxurious as we’re accustomed to, but we had our jackets to wear at night like pyjamas. I’m normally not a fan of anything that resembles clothing but, at just 5 degrees Celsius (41 Fahrenheit) overnight, I was happy to make an exception.

06-Chico-Horsetrip-coffee-1

Still wearing my PJs while I sample Nollind’s coffee.

 

Even with the jacket, I don’t think I slept that well because by Sunday afternoon, when T and Nollind were readying the horses and trailer to travel, Logan and I fell asleep in the shade, exhausted. Or it could have been all that fresh mountain air. Or maybe it was watching all that post-ride grooming, packing, and stall cleaning. Whatever the cause, it was the good kind of tired, the kind that comes from days spent outdoors, with friends.

06-Chico-Horsetrip-tired-1

The good kind of tired.

2 thoughts on “Horses, Humans, and Hounds

Leave a Reply

