Having a Hi Jolly Christmas

It’s raining in the desert. It’s not that it’s never rained before when we’re here, but it’s a very rare thing. And when it does rain, it’s often just enough to wet the stones and make the creosote bushes smell a little. This rain was all night long and heavy. I know because you can hear it in the trailer much more than you can in the house. And this morning the smell from the creosotes was strong enough to knock out just about everything else, even for a sensitive nose like mine. Logan likes the rain, and the cool that comes with it. I’m more of a sun lover.

12-quartzsite-rain

The view out the living room window this morning.

We moved a couple of days ago, to another BLM 14-day camping area near Quartzsite. For those not familiar, BLM stand for the Bureau of Land Management. They’re the ones who manage the public/government owned lands here in the western United States. Back home in Canada we’d call it crown land.

This camping area is called Hi Jolly, after one of the early settlers. Apparently, his real name was Hadji Ali but the English-speaking folk of the area couldn’t quite wrap their tongues around it and it morphed into Hi Jolly. I can understand that. Every time I try to say anything in human it comes out the same—“woof!” My tongue and lips just won’t form words. So frustrating.

12-quartzsite-hi-jolly

Checking in at the Hi Jolly host site.

Hi Jolly was hired by the US Army as a camel driver. Yup, you read that right, a camel driver in the United States. It was part of an experiment in using imported camels to transport cargo across the American desert. The experiment was a failure partly because the army’s burros, horses, and mules were terrified of the camels and would panic. Equines are such skittish beasts.

Anyway, old Hi Jolly settled here at Quartzsite, and died here in 1902. And the camels? Many were sold but a few wily critters escaped into the Arizona desert and survived here until the 1930s. I wish they were still around. I’d love to see a camel. Unless it was the Red Ghost!

12-quartzsite-hi-jolly-monument

Hi Jolly Monument at the Quartzsite Cemetery

In other news, my foot is healing well. This is terrific because it means I can soon lose the dreaded sock when we go out walking. At least Logan’s toddler socks are hidden inside his rather cool-looking doggie hikers. My stupid sock with the little football on the side is exposed for all to see, and here at Hi Jolly there are a lot more people around to see it.

Thankfully, during a walk in Quartzsite a couple of days ago, they left the sock behind, thinking the concrete sidewalks were unlikely to tear the new toenail. What a relief that was. I do love going to town and being amongst the humans and I don’t want to look like some bumpkin that forgot to put on the rest of his footwear.

12-trailer-life-chico-sock

On this particular town outing, we got to go along for lunch at a restaurant. I love restaurants. I didn’t get a plate or a chair but there was shade and water and a few tidbits from T’s plate of fish tacos, beans and rice. It’s very common here to allow dogs in outdoor eating areas. One of the many things I love about travelling south in the winters. If I could just get them to order me my own plate of food. I like everything, so it’s not like I’d be hard to please.

12-quartzsite-taco-mio

Lunch at Taco Mio. If you look closely you can see Logan off to the left. He has a weird thing about nesting under bushes.

It’s Christmas in a few days and T & Nollind have decided to stay here in Quartzsite. Apparently there’s a potluck they’re planning to attend at some outdoor pub. I sure hope I get to go along. Since it’s an outdoor place, I just might. Cross your fingers for me! In the meanwhile, I heard something about a Christmas movie or two, and, as you can see in the photo below, I do love movie nights.

12-quartzsite-tv-night

Logan and I want to wish you all a very Merry Christmas! And don’t forget your dog this Christmas (if you have one). We love nothing more than being included in the festivities, especially when it involves turkey, or ham, or mashed potatoes with gravy, or pumpkin pie … oops, I’m drooling on the computer. Need a towel—gotta go—

2 thoughts on “Having a Hi Jolly Christmas

  1. Chico, you are cool in spite of the “stupid socks” so don’t worry! You and Logan and your humans have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

