Horse Hooves & Campfires

Since Logan got sidetracked last week and only shared the very beginning of our travel adventure to the Lazy M, I’ll tell you the rest of the tale. And I guess I should tell you that we weren’t actually at the Lazy M proper, but next door to it, at the home/ranch of the previous owners of the Lazy M, Margie and Lane Moore of Central Alberta Barefooters.

Lazy M breakfast

Keeping an eye on breakfast on Saturday morning.

 

Saturday afternoon, I was sitting on the table in the living quarters (LQ) of the horse trailer when, what did I see? A wheelbarrow full of horse hooves without any horses attached! And just why was I up on that table, some of you might ask? Well, it was a bit boring in the LQ for starters, and, with the open window, a very interesting smell was wafting in. I’m a big chewer, love my bones, and that’s what I was smelling, odd as it seemed at what was supposed to be a horse clinic. We even had Rosa with us! Now, Nollind is regularly trimming the horses’ feet here at the farm (they happen to make tasty dog snacks), and they don’t seem to mind, but this was a whole other deal.cadaver hoof

 

I was worried for Rosa. Where was she? I was just going to start barking through the open window when Logan woke up from his nap and stepped in. How he knows these things I have no idea, but he explained the situation to me, that the hooves were from horses that had been slaughtered and their feet donated to science. The students at the clinic use the cadaver hooves to practice trimming without the risk of hurting a live horse that still needs good feet to walk on. Okay, sounds reasonable, but I couldn’t help wondering about all those lost horses, who they’d belonged to, what their stories were, how they’d ended up at the slaughter plant in Fort Macleod.

Two of our horses, Rosa and Storm, were bound for this very place when they were snatched out from the under the noses of the meat buyers at the Innisfail Auction. We’ve asked Storm to write a guest blog for us one day, on his experience of nearly ending up on a plate in Japan, France or maybe Belgium.

Lazy M mini

Lane demonstrating on the smallest horse I’ve ever seen. I wanted to go over and say hello but T wouldn’t let me.

Aside from the worry about the poor cadaver horses, it was a fun weekend of camping with my peeps. They were pretty busy with the clinic but they got us out for walks in the morning, at lunch and again at the end of the day, we had a campfire on Saturday night, and we got to dine outdoors! I liked it better than Logan did. He’s easily put off his food by the slightest change in routine … something I’ve never understood.

Lazy M on the road

End-of-day walk.

Lazy M campfire time

Campfire time.

We packed up late on Sunday afternoon (including Rosa with four freshly trimmed feet, still attached), said our goodbyes, and were on our way home. T and Nollind stopped for dinner at the J-Bar-T, a funky roadside bar in Spruce View, while I slept, dreaming of campfires and sunset walks. Life is good.Chico running at Lazy M

 

 

Leave a Reply

